Board index Peugeot RCZ Peugeot RCZ Technical Discussion Drivetrain Temperature Sensor Fault - DIY Repair! (Not a bodge!)

Temperature Sensor Fault - DIY Repair! (Not a bodge!)

Engine, gearbox, exhaust and other drivetrain issues

TheGoody User avatar

Regular
Regular

Posts: 30
Kudos: 28
Location: Bedfordshire
Biaggi wrote:
I took yesterday afternoon off work to complete this slowly and properly. 45 mins I was done!


Awesome! So pleased someone else has benefited from my endeavors, all worth while now! :D


Bowerz Regular
Regular

Posts: 39
Kudos: 4
Interestingly had the exact same issue on my 207 1.6 VTi, with the exact same fix!

TheGoody User avatar

Regular
Regular

Posts: 30
Kudos: 28
Location: Bedfordshire
Yeah that sounds pretty reasonable, the Prince Engine platform has been used in quite an array of Peugeots, Citroens and BMWs, the 207 being one of them.

19exotic User avatar

Regular
Regular

Posts: 13
Kudos: 7
Location: High Peak

Thanks for this - mine has been pinging this up now & again for couple of weeks but today went mental (luckily no engine managment/limp mode yet).

Booked into dealership to fix & also check why it seems to drink coolant every now & again (possibly linked).

It is out of warranty (just) but have known the guys for years so are usually pretty good with me, however if you can post a copy/link to the TSB it would be real helpful in negotiations for me & the numerous others it looks like this issue will impact!
:twisted:
Don't let your dreams be clouded, aim your sights high, search your true feelings and Reach For The Sky

amandaj Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 1
Kudos: 0
Just to send my thanks for this brilliant guide and part information. Sorted my irritating problem this morning.
As per one of the other posts, I managed to avoid removing the battery although it does make the fitting of the actual sensor more difficult (unless you are double jointed) and in my case the lower air hose was secured with a threadlocked bolt too.
Took my less than 2 hours and that was being slow to make sure I didn't break anything.
Been for a run and no sign yet of the problem. It had been going off almost non stop for the last couple of days. So fingers crossed.
That's 2 sensors in 2 weeks - water level for the second time, and then this one.
What next!!!

THP 200 - nice to drive but crap electrics

litenheat Member
Member

Posts: 55
Kudos: 9
Just taken mine in for something else today, and they have told us there is a re-call on a temperature sensor. I'm presuming its this one. I would ring yer Peugeot dealer and get it done FOC. :clap:

Siggie User avatar

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 5
Kudos: 2
Location: South Yorkshire
Absolutely brilliant post. This has been driving me to distraction for some time prior. My mate who owns his own garage fitted it for me but not after some haggling and insistence on his part that the quoted part number did belong to Peugeot and then again that it was for this car. They are not very forthcoming with this. Top Marks :thumbup:
200 THP
19" Solstice

XeviouS Regular
Regular

Posts: 17
Kudos: 8
Location: Sydney, Australia
I had this issue, and during my most recent service 2 weeks ago, it was repaired by Peugeot despite my car being well out of warranty.
2010 THP 200
- Pearl White with Black Leather
- 19" Sortilege Matt Black Onyx Alloys
- Front and Rear Parking Sensors
- Vision Pack
- JBL HiFi Pack
- K&N Air Filter

bjornarhuse Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 6
Kudos: 0
Other issue: fluctuating slowly (consistent with load), but never reaches 90 and goes down to 70 when coasting.
Just exchanged the whole coolant plumbing/branch which includes the temp sensor and the thermostat valve. New unit installed, exact same behavior.

Fan doesn't run (probably does if it reaches over 90, but haven't been there yet...)

Ideas?

larraine11 Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 1
Kudos: 0
Hi all

I am new to the Forum,so hope you will keep me right!

I have a Peugeot RCZ THP 200 and have been getting the dreaded stop notice due to the Sensor Fault.My husband took my car into the local Peugeot dealer and we were told that the car has been recalled because of the problem and to take it back today.Well today it went back and the sensor was replaced for free but we were then told that it needs an outlet coolant housing and maybe an engine harness if affected!!Evidently caused by poor sealing of the coolant outlet housing.

My question is are they just having my eyes out they want 242.65,do I need this part replacing as they have replaced the sensor,and would this housing not all be part of the original sensor problem that they have been recalled for?

Help please!!

Larraine

Blade9001970 Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 1
Kudos: 0
Hello all ..
I too had same problem with my 2011 rcz 200 , rang local dealer ( griffin mill , Pontypridd , South Wales ) and asked if there was a recall for said problem !!
After giving my vin number I was informed that there was a recall in which I should have received a letter months prior to my call ... Car was swiftly booked in ... Took them an hour to do job and all free of charge ..

DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3764
Kudos: 1137
Location: Yorkshire
:text-goodpost:
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

craigdm Regular
Regular

Posts: 47
Kudos: 6
Location: Lytham St Annes, Lancs
My 2011 RCZ is booked in for friday... naively hoping it will fix the problem I had this morning... P1030 error code and limp home mode.
RCZ 200 GT

Sanity Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 175
Kudos: 43
craigdm wrote:
My 2011 RCZ is booked in for friday... naively hoping it will fix the problem I had this morning... P1030 error code and limp home mode.


If you are lucky it's just a glitch :)
I had that error code once, back in august last year. Car acted normal after next couple of starts so I just cleared the code via my odbII reader and everything has been working perfect ever since.

Have you driven the car since the error first came up?

craigdm Regular
Regular

Posts: 47
Kudos: 6
Location: Lytham St Annes, Lancs
Sanity wrote:
craigdm wrote:
My 2011 RCZ is booked in for friday... naively hoping it will fix the problem I had this morning... P1030 error code and limp home mode.


If you are lucky it's just a glitch :)
I had that error code once, back in august last year. Car acted normal after next couple of starts so I just cleared the code via my odbII reader and everything has been working perfect ever since.
Have you driven the car since the error first came up?


I cleared the code and it was fine on the way home from work, distance of about 25 miles. Had to go the long way though as I was worried what might happen if I took the shorter motorway route!
RCZ 200 GT

Dencole Regular
Regular

Posts: 24
Kudos: 7
Location: Burnham, Essex
I had the Problem of my engine warning me to stop. Yes it was the Engine Temp Sensor. I took it to my very trustworthy local garage to fix. They had to replace the part with a new improved part with loom, cost £285. I was a bit peeved that I had to pay this seeing it was a design fault. So I emailed Peugeot and asked if they would reimburse me, they basically said F**k off. So I question if there was a recall for this? If there was why didn't Peugeot tell me this?

Cheers guys
Thank You
Love my RCZ

2retro User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1212
Kudos: 538
They did mine for free at the main dealers during it's service last year because it was a recall...

aladdinsane Regular
Regular

Posts: 10
Kudos: 6
hi guys
just to let you know there is a recall from Peugeot for this problem.
i only found out after having my complete thermostat housing replaced at a cost of £335.
im trying to find out if theres a recall code/number .
im going to try to get some costs back from Peugeot.
will update when i have any more info.

aladdinsane Regular
Regular

Posts: 10
Kudos: 6
OPPS .just seen previous posts .
im a numpty. :evil:

Plecodoras User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1317
Kudos: 648
Location: North Yorks
Wish I had known about this and Peugeot could have informed me of recall ( presuming I was lucky enough to be on the list ).
I ended up paying a local garage £300 to fix it, it seemed ok for a day then went barmy again. Took it to a diagnostic specialist who told me if you don't want to fix it just unplug it but remember to keep an eye on the coolant levels. That stopped it misbehaving and guess what ? I forgot to re-connect the sensor when I sold the car. It was pretty obvious though as I sat it directly underneath the coolant bottle where I had removed it from. Anyone with a bit of sense would see where it came from. Anyway annoying to pay £300 for a garage which clearly didn't know what they were doing as they replaced the wrong part, which in essence must have been ok.
You win some you lose some.
:lol: Laugh and the whole world laughs with you.... or is that at you? :eusa-think:

Former owner of Dolphin Blue GT200 fully loaded inc. Quads / Xenons.
Now on second white* R
currently sporting an Avery
Roaring Thunder Gloss flip colour wrap.

PreviousNext

Return to Drivetrain

cron