Board index Peugeot RCZ Peugeot RCZ Technical Discussion Lights & Electrics Permanent and Ignition Power

Permanent and Ignition Power

Interior, exterior and warning lights

Post Mon Jan 16, 2017 9:41 pm
Wimmy1 User avatar

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 7
Kudos: 3
Hi all,

Newbie here. Owned my RCZ for 18 months (11 plate diesel) and popped on here for the 1st time. I'm trying to hardwire a Thinkware F770 dashcam and using two piggyback fuse taps. I needs a permanent 12v and an ignition switched 12v. Can anyone point me in the direction of the correct fuses?

Thanks


Post Mon Jan 16, 2017 9:54 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3391
Kudos: 989
Location: Yorkshire
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Mon Jan 16, 2017 10:12 pm
Wimmy1 User avatar

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 7
Kudos: 3
Thanks for that. However, I was looking to simply tap on to a couple of existing fuses rather than butchering on to a couple of wires. I have routed all the cabling to the fusebox (and earthed behind glove box) and just need an ignition powered switch. All seem to be permanently on :s

Post Mon Jan 16, 2017 10:32 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3391
Kudos: 989
Location: Yorkshire
I fitted front & rear Dashcams, piggybacking fuses. I honestly can't remember which ones I ended up using, but I went for ignition controlled for both. I remember just using the trial and error method, as it doesn't matter what fuse you choose - because its piggy backed, the original fuse rating will still apply to the circuit it was intended for. The only time that wouldn't apply is if the original fuse was lower rated than the Dashcams, but as the Dashcams fuses are rated so low, that wasn't an issue.
If I get chance, I will have a look tomorrow and maybe take a photo.
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Mon Jan 16, 2017 10:34 pm
Wimmy1 User avatar

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 7
Kudos: 3
Thank you! :)

Post Tue Jan 17, 2017 7:37 am
tianorth User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1643
Kudos: 348
Location: Fareham, Hampshire
I think I did another post where I or someone else fitted cameras and went through which fuse I used and which earth in the fuse area I used.
Tia2 is a 2013 RCZ Magnetic in Black with a 2litre diesel engine
Upgraded Peugeot sat-nav now has 7 digit postcode, safety alerts and updated maps
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights, quad exhaust tips
Tia3 is a 2015 RCZ-R in Mercury Grey with a 1.6litre petrol engine, oh and 270 bhp
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights
Both have dash cams front and back

Post Wed Jan 18, 2017 5:47 pm
Wimmy1 User avatar

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 7
Kudos: 3
For future reference for anyone
F6 for BATT
F3 for ACC

Works a treat. Lets just hope the permanently installed dash cam doesn't tempt the scallies to pop a window!

How good is your rear view camera? I have the option of purchasing as an add on for mine but can see it being not much use in any type of wet weather due to the shape of the rear window and no wiper.

I'm Manchester based so it rains here most of the time

Post Wed Jan 18, 2017 10:34 pm
tianorth User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1643
Kudos: 348
Location: Fareham, Hampshire
My rear screen's video is the same quality as the front.
If there is water vapour or rain drops on the screen when i start moving it run off and the camera can see out of the top of the screen, get some great views of the water cascading down the screen.
Tia2 is a 2013 RCZ Magnetic in Black with a 2litre diesel engine
Upgraded Peugeot sat-nav now has 7 digit postcode, safety alerts and updated maps
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights, quad exhaust tips
Tia3 is a 2015 RCZ-R in Mercury Grey with a 1.6litre petrol engine, oh and 270 bhp
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights
Both have dash cams front and back

Post Thu Jan 19, 2017 12:54 am
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3391
Kudos: 989
Location: Yorkshire
Mine is fitted centrally at the top of the screen. Obviously if it is steamed up then there is nothing much to see, but as Chris has said, the water run off clears the outside quite quickly & is quite a sight on playback.

Sorry I didn't get back to you, but I haven't had the car for the last couple of days, my OH has been using it.
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Thu Jan 19, 2017 11:58 am
tianorth User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1643
Kudos: 348
Location: Fareham, Hampshire
Not going on the forum, or Facebook, or Internet, pining after your car, worried about it, hoping it doesn't get muck, or damaged, oh the joys of owning a RCZ.
Have you re-viewed the footage yet to see how the RCZ was treated?

:oops: :oops: :oops: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :roll: :roll: :lol: :lol: :D
Tia2 is a 2013 RCZ Magnetic in Black with a 2litre diesel engine
Upgraded Peugeot sat-nav now has 7 digit postcode, safety alerts and updated maps
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights, quad exhaust tips
Tia3 is a 2015 RCZ-R in Mercury Grey with a 1.6litre petrol engine, oh and 270 bhp
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights
Both have dash cams front and back

Post Thu Jan 19, 2017 1:15 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3391
Kudos: 989
Location: Yorkshire
I daren't look in case of what I might see :o

But I did get chance to give it a good fettling this morning :D
Attachments
IMG_0784.JPG
IMG_0784.JPG (252.93 KiB) Viewed 2473 times
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Fri Jan 20, 2017 9:06 am
Wimmy1 User avatar

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 7
Kudos: 3
I daren't look either unless it gives me an 'incident' notification

Post Sun May 14, 2017 5:28 pm
ecion Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 3
Kudos: 2
Location: Lincs, United Kingdom
Wimmy1 wrote:
For future reference for anyone
F6 for BATT
F3 for ACC


Give that man a beer. :beer: I was very confused to find the v12 socket and windows fuses were giving power without ignition. Using F3 sorted it!
2014 RCZ GT 2.0HDi with RT6


Return to Lights & Electrics

cron