Board index Peugeot RCZ Peugeot RCZ Technical Discussion Ipods, MP3 Players and Sat Nav 0 Satellites visible

0 Satellites visible

Inc Phone connectivity, radio and other media

Post Mon Jun 22, 2015 3:35 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3396
Kudos: 995
Location: Yorkshire
So, it appears not to be my week. My Z has now taken to showing me driving through fields, and across roads, nowhere near my actual location.

It is also showing 0 satellites visible - maybe something to do with my on map off-roading antics.

Is there someway of re-setting the system? Not sure if that would help or not.

I did the map update some time ago, but all has been ok since the update, it's just been the last couple of days, round about the same time as the low oil warning, which has now gone (can't see any connection there).

Anyone else ever had this?
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red


Post Mon Jun 22, 2015 4:44 pm
TAC User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 380
Kudos: 93
Had this No I've got it now happened 2 weeks ago after a update totally useless sat nav now and don't get me started on the speed camera alerts still make me jump even through I'm sixty miles away
Moroccan Red R
Black Mirror Caps
Limo rear quarter and back Tinted Windows
G3 Glass Coat
BlackVue DR750LW-2CH Front & Rear Dashcam
Personal number plate
0 Satellites visible

Post Mon Jun 22, 2015 9:13 pm
tianorth User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1646
Kudos: 349
Location: Fareham, Hampshire
Press and hold the power button (I think) for about 10 seconds.

DKZ5745 wrote:
Is there someway of re-setting the system?


Let us know what happens.

Does it do it when route is programmed or all time?
Tia2 is a 2013 RCZ Magnetic in Black with a 2litre diesel engine
Upgraded Peugeot sat-nav now has 7 digit postcode, safety alerts and updated maps
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights, quad exhaust tips
Tia3 is a 2015 RCZ-R in Mercury Grey with a 1.6litre petrol engine, oh and 270 bhp
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights
Both have dash cams front and back

Post Mon Jun 22, 2015 10:17 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3396
Kudos: 995
Location: Yorkshire
Haven't tried planning a route since it started playing up. It does sometimes seem to pick up where I am, but then the next time I look at the screen, I'm in the middle of fields, or driving across roads in a housing estate no where near my actual location.

I will give the power button a go tomorrow, cheers Chris.
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Tue Jun 23, 2015 8:45 am
tianorth User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1646
Kudos: 349
Location: Fareham, Hampshire
With the sat nav problem could this be connected to the oil level warning?
As no satellite visible, no oil visible. :oops:
Tia2 is a 2013 RCZ Magnetic in Black with a 2litre diesel engine
Upgraded Peugeot sat-nav now has 7 digit postcode, safety alerts and updated maps
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights, quad exhaust tips
Tia3 is a 2015 RCZ-R in Mercury Grey with a 1.6litre petrol engine, oh and 270 bhp
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights
Both have dash cams front and back

Post Tue Jun 23, 2015 9:31 am
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3396
Kudos: 995
Location: Yorkshire
Now you mention it, also had two people pull out on me yesterday, and an old lady in a micra driving straight at me on the wrong side of the road.

Maybe my entire car is becoming invisible.... :eusa-think:

Can't see it myself though :shock: :lol:

:auto-car:
Last edited by DKZ5745 on Tue Jun 23, 2015 12:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Tue Jun 23, 2015 9:45 am
2retro User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1074
Kudos: 466
DKZ5745 wrote:
Now you mention it, also had two people pull out on me yesterday, and an old lady in a micro driving straight at me on the wrong side of the road.

Well what do you expect if you're driving in the middle of fields or across roads in housing estates... ;)

Post Tue Jun 23, 2015 12:09 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3396
Kudos: 995
Location: Yorkshire
You have a point :wtf:
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Tue Jun 23, 2015 12:16 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3396
Kudos: 995
Location: Yorkshire
So, this morning, decided to go out & try the power button reset thingy, and guess what, there were 4 satellites visible, and my car was actually wher it really was :wtf:

So, had a drive & all was OK, so haven't done the power button thingy yet. Strange how it has cleared itself up at the same time it's sorted the low oil level warning out.

I really can't see how they could be linked, but it's a coincidence that this is the first error message I have had since buying the car, and I have two problems at the same time, that both clear at the same time :shock:

Very odd :eusa-think:
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Tue Jun 23, 2015 5:10 pm
tianorth User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1646
Kudos: 349
Location: Fareham, Hampshire
DKZ5745 wrote:
So, this morning, decided to go out & try the power button reset thingy, and guess what, there were 4 satellites visible, and my car was actually wher it really was :wtf:


Does that mean you actually got in your car and not someone elses? :lol:
Tia2 is a 2013 RCZ Magnetic in Black with a 2litre diesel engine
Upgraded Peugeot sat-nav now has 7 digit postcode, safety alerts and updated maps
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights, quad exhaust tips
Tia3 is a 2015 RCZ-R in Mercury Grey with a 1.6litre petrol engine, oh and 270 bhp
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights
Both have dash cams front and back

Post Tue Jun 23, 2015 5:40 pm
TAC User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 380
Kudos: 93
tianorth wrote:
Press and hold the power button (I think) for about 10 seconds.

DKZ5745 wrote:
Is there someway of re-setting the system?


Let us know what happens.

Does it do it when route is programmed or all time?


I tried that all it does is brings up the date :( also I'm getting location bad
Moroccan Red R
Black Mirror Caps
Limo rear quarter and back Tinted Windows
G3 Glass Coat
BlackVue DR750LW-2CH Front & Rear Dashcam
Personal number plate
0 Satellites visible

Post Tue Jun 23, 2015 9:10 pm
tianorth User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1646
Kudos: 349
Location: Fareham, Hampshire
As per page 251 of the owners manual.
Press eject - continuous press : re initialisation of the system
Tia2 is a 2013 RCZ Magnetic in Black with a 2litre diesel engine
Upgraded Peugeot sat-nav now has 7 digit postcode, safety alerts and updated maps
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights, quad exhaust tips
Tia3 is a 2015 RCZ-R in Mercury Grey with a 1.6litre petrol engine, oh and 270 bhp
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights
Both have dash cams front and back

Post Tue Jun 23, 2015 9:36 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3396
Kudos: 995
Location: Yorkshire
I will have to try that Chris, cos it's gone back to 0 satellites visible again, and I'm off roading everywhere.

While I was waiting to pick my OH up from work, I tried the power button thingy, but that just seemed to turn off the radio.

So I tried pressing and holding the nav button, that seemed to shut the system down & re start it, but it didn't make any difference at all.

I will try the eject button thingy tomorrow. It will probably just eject my CD. :wtf:
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Tue Jun 23, 2015 9:39 pm
mjcuk2000 Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 100
Kudos: 26
DKZ5745 wrote:
I really can't see how they could be linked, but it's a coincidence that this is the first error message I have had since buying the car, and I have two problems at the same time, that both clear at the same time :shock:


I had an ABS sensor fault and it caused similar issues with my rt6 sat nav. The ABS fault would randomly appear during a journey and the sat nav would stop updating position from that point onwards for that journey.
Once I got the ABS sensor fixed the sat nav worked fine too. I don't know how the fault would affect the satnav, but it did!

Post Tue Jun 23, 2015 9:42 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3396
Kudos: 995
Location: Yorkshire
Hmmmm, the plot thickens :eusa-think:
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Tue Jun 23, 2015 9:45 pm
TAC User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 380
Kudos: 93
tianorth wrote:
As per page 251 of the owners manual.
Press eject - continuous press : re initialisation of the system

If that fails would a 4lb club hammer work ;)
Moroccan Red R
Black Mirror Caps
Limo rear quarter and back Tinted Windows
G3 Glass Coat
BlackVue DR750LW-2CH Front & Rear Dashcam
Personal number plate
0 Satellites visible

Post Tue Jun 23, 2015 9:48 pm
tianorth User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1646
Kudos: 349
Location: Fareham, Hampshire
TAC wrote:
tianorth wrote:
As per page 251 of the owners manual.
Press eject - continuous press : re initialisation of the system

If that fails would a 4lb club hammer work ;)

I don't think that would stop other errors!
Tia2 is a 2013 RCZ Magnetic in Black with a 2litre diesel engine
Upgraded Peugeot sat-nav now has 7 digit postcode, safety alerts and updated maps
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights, quad exhaust tips
Tia3 is a 2015 RCZ-R in Mercury Grey with a 1.6litre petrol engine, oh and 270 bhp
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights
Both have dash cams front and back

Post Tue Jun 23, 2015 9:52 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3396
Kudos: 995
Location: Yorkshire
I think it would make me feel better though :eusa-whistle:
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Tue Jun 23, 2015 10:03 pm
TAC User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 380
Kudos: 93
I just tried the eject button it does reboot it but it still saying I'm in Dorking :shock:
Moroccan Red R
Black Mirror Caps
Limo rear quarter and back Tinted Windows
G3 Glass Coat
BlackVue DR750LW-2CH Front & Rear Dashcam
Personal number plate
0 Satellites visible

Post Tue Jun 23, 2015 10:11 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3396
Kudos: 995
Location: Yorkshire
You could always move to Dorking :eusa-think:
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Next

Return to Ipods, MP3 Players and Sat Nav