Board index Peugeot RCZ Peugeot RCZ Technical Discussion Ipods, MP3 Players and Sat Nav 0 Satellites visible

0 Satellites visible

Inc Phone connectivity, radio and other media

Post Thu Sep 03, 2015 7:29 am
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3768
Kudos: 1137
Location: Yorkshire
Sadly no. The service guy was very busy when I collected the car, there was a problem with a lady in a wheelchair. I will ask when I go in for the tyres sorting today/tomorrow :eusa-think:
Last edited by DKZ5745 on Thu Sep 03, 2015 9:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red


Post Thu Sep 03, 2015 8:27 am
2retro User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1212
Kudos: 538
DKZ5745 wrote:
...there was a problem with a lady in a wheelchair. :eusa-think:

They probably couldn't find the jacking points on her wheelchair... :lol:

Post Thu Sep 03, 2015 9:01 am
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3768
Kudos: 1137
Location: Yorkshire
Well, they certainly wouldn't have found them if they were using my Sat Nav. 0 Satellites found AGAIN this morning. So when I thought they had sorted 1 out of the 3 issues I mentioned, I was wrong :thumbdown:
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Thu Sep 03, 2015 10:30 am
tianorth User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1783
Kudos: 375
Location: Fareham, Hampshire
Anyone else in your area with same sat nav? C4, DS3, 308, 208 etc just to see if theirs does the same in the same location. It could be a satellite blind spot.
Tia2 is a 2013 RCZ Magnetic in Black with a 2litre diesel engine
Upgraded Peugeot sat-nav now has 7 digit postcode, safety alerts and updated maps
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights, quad exhaust tips
Tia3 is a 2015 RCZ-R in Mercury Grey with a 1.6litre petrol engine, oh and 270 bhp
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights
Both have dash cams front and back

Post Thu Sep 03, 2015 10:51 am
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3768
Kudos: 1137
Location: Yorkshire
The Sat Nav was working OK when I got the car. It has been picking up 6 satellites regularly on the drive, and still does, but only sometimes. Other times it's says Bad Area. Maybe the Geo Stationary Satellites move away from here sometimes :eusa-think:
Do Satellites take holidays :wtf:

Looks like another word when it goes in for the tyres, but my faith in garages which was already pretty low, and is dropping rapidly.

You have to worry about a garage that sets itself very low standards, then fails to maintain them :shock:
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Thu Sep 03, 2015 12:43 pm
tianorth User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1783
Kudos: 375
Location: Fareham, Hampshire
DKZ5745 wrote:
Do Satellites take holidays :wtf:


Only when the Americans go to war!
Tia2 is a 2013 RCZ Magnetic in Black with a 2litre diesel engine
Upgraded Peugeot sat-nav now has 7 digit postcode, safety alerts and updated maps
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights, quad exhaust tips
Tia3 is a 2015 RCZ-R in Mercury Grey with a 1.6litre petrol engine, oh and 270 bhp
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights
Both have dash cams front and back

Post Thu Sep 03, 2015 4:05 pm
TAC User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 382
Kudos: 94
DKZ5745 wrote:
So, the car went in for its second service today, and I asked them to look at the 0 satellites visible problem.

Report reads, Found TSB D5AW010NQ0. Checked the GPS Firmware found it to read GPS---' requires re-initialising. Carried out GPS reset as per TSB, tested all ok.

On the way home all was as it should be, 6 satellites found all the way home.

So if there is a TSB out, maybe it's worth a visit to your dealer and get a FOC fix.


Can I have that in English TSB :?:
Moroccan Red R
Black Mirror Caps
Limo rear quarter and back Tinted Windows
G3 Glass Coat
BlackVue DR750LW-2CH Front & Rear Dashcam
Personal number plate
0 Satellites visible

Post Thu Sep 03, 2015 6:58 pm
stevebasshead User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 763
Kudos: 326
Location: UK
Technical Service/Support Bulletin I believe

Post Fri Sep 11, 2015 5:40 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3768
Kudos: 1137
Location: Yorkshire
So, just got the car back aft its third visit to the dealer in just over a week. They had to borrow "tool" from a Citroen dealer nearby, as they couldn't find another Peugeot dealer that had one.

Apparently, they plug the tool into the Sat Nav, park it up outside with the engine running for 20 minutes, and the "tool" tells them if there are any faults.

They tell me that I need a new GPS aerial, and so have had to order one in, so guess what?, it has to go back in a fourth time once this arrives.

Although this is the part I suspected from the start, I am still sceptical that this will resolve my issues.

Btw, Sat Nav worked fine all the way back from dealership, but I stopped for fuel on the way home, when I started the car, the screen took @ 10 seconds to flip open, then it was blank for @ 20 seconds, then Peugeot logo for 20 seconds, then worked OK again.

Just a bit concerned what they will say when they go to replace my GPS aerial & they see the wires I have routed for my dash cams.

On the plus side, they tell me they have fixed my screen wash leak & my new tyres look nice :lol:
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Sat Sep 12, 2015 12:27 am
renegade79 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1848
Kudos: 373
Location: Ireland
[quote="DKZ5745"]

but I stopped for fuel on the way home

Hardly surprising if they had yours running for 20 mins! Next time leave it back on the red light :D
308GTi THP270 in magnetic blue


RCZ gone but not forgotten

Post Sun Sep 13, 2015 10:28 am
pete.garratt Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 832
Kudos: 149
Location: Hertfordshire
DKZ5745 wrote:
Btw, Sat Nav worked fine all the way back from dealership, but I stopped for fuel on the way home, when I started the car, the screen took @ 10 seconds to flip open, then it was blank for @ 20 seconds, then Peugeot logo for 20 seconds, then worked OK again.


This sounds to me like some thing that was fixed with a sat nav firmware update. Just out of interest, what's your current firmware version?
Moroccan Red R
JBL
Black Mirror Caps

Post Sun Sep 13, 2015 8:14 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3768
Kudos: 1137
Location: Yorkshire
2.86 but I had already updated it to that before it went in. They did say they had done something with the software, but then after using the "tool" declared I had a faulty GPS aerial.

It's odd though, cos I don't think I've had the 0 satellites thing since I got it back this time. I suspect they might have had to unplug the aerial to plug the "tool" in. Maybe all that was needed was to make sure the GPS aerial was actually plugged in properly :eusa-think:
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Sun Sep 13, 2015 8:43 pm
TAC User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 382
Kudos: 94
I'm going to look a right tit if I go to the garage and say you need a tool to fix mine :wtf:
Moroccan Red R
Black Mirror Caps
Limo rear quarter and back Tinted Windows
G3 Glass Coat
BlackVue DR750LW-2CH Front & Rear Dashcam
Personal number plate
0 Satellites visible

Post Sun Sep 13, 2015 8:57 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3768
Kudos: 1137
Location: Yorkshire
This is true, sadly that was the only description I got. It appeared to be some kind of diagnostic device, I only saw it bagged up, it was a small black box with a wire coming from it with some kind of plug on the end. I already posted how it was used.
It remains to be seen how accurate it's diagnosis was. I will keep you posted when it's been back in for the "fix".
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:06 pm
TAC User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 382
Kudos: 94
DKZ5745 wrote:
2.86 but I had already updated it to that before it went in. They did say they had done something with the software, but then after using the "tool" declared I had a faulty GPS aerial.

It's odd though, cos I don't think I've had the 0 satellites thing since I got it back this time. I suspect they might have had to unplug the aerial to plug the "tool" in. Maybe all that was needed was to make sure the GPS aerial was actually plugged in properly :eusa-think:


Is it still working ?
Moroccan Red R
Black Mirror Caps
Limo rear quarter and back Tinted Windows
G3 Glass Coat
BlackVue DR750LW-2CH Front & Rear Dashcam
Personal number plate
0 Satellites visible

Post Sun Sep 13, 2015 10:45 pm
tianorth User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1783
Kudos: 375
Location: Fareham, Hampshire
The tool will probably be the pp2000 which can view all the systems from the on - board diagnostic port
Tia2 is a 2013 RCZ Magnetic in Black with a 2litre diesel engine
Upgraded Peugeot sat-nav now has 7 digit postcode, safety alerts and updated maps
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights, quad exhaust tips
Tia3 is a 2015 RCZ-R in Mercury Grey with a 1.6litre petrol engine, oh and 270 bhp
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights
Both have dash cams front and back

Post Sun Sep 13, 2015 10:54 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3768
Kudos: 1137
Location: Yorkshire
Sat Nav was still working this afternoon, so not sure what they might have accidentally done, but they may have sorted it out before it actually goes in for the "fix".

I am still going to let it go in for the GPS aerial replacing, as they have told me it is faulty, but I will tell them if it is still working by the time it goes in.
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:06 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3768
Kudos: 1137
Location: Yorkshire
So @ a week since I had a new GPS aerial fitted under warranty.

Ever since then :dance: no problems at all, finds satellites within a few seconds of starting up, hasn't got lost once since the fix.

I had been concerned what they might say about the dash cam wires, but no mention was made. It's all good :thumbup:
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Tue Sep 22, 2015 7:52 pm
TAC User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 382
Kudos: 94
DKZ5745 wrote:
So @ a week since I had a new GPS aerial fitted under warranty.

Ever since then :dance: no problems at all, finds satellites within a few seconds of starting up, hasn't got lost once since the fix.

I had been concerned what they might say about the dash cam wires, but no mention was made. It's all good :thumbup:


Great news I look forward to sorting mine out :thumbup:
Moroccan Red R
Black Mirror Caps
Limo rear quarter and back Tinted Windows
G3 Glass Coat
BlackVue DR750LW-2CH Front & Rear Dashcam
Personal number plate
0 Satellites visible

Post Wed Jul 26, 2017 11:36 am
Abzynthe User avatar

Moderator
Moderator

Posts: 3903
Kudos: 1053
Location: Peterborough

Bit of a thread revival, but I have this problem :(

Sat nav worked perfectly when I picked the car up. I updated the firmware to 2.80, then to 2.86. I didnt check what version it was on before the updates.
I did have some problems though. It updated to 2.80 fine. I then proceeded to update to 2.86. The first time, it bricked the system and was just stuck in the update cycle. I ordered the update disk from Peugeot and I think it was version 2.86 B?
I then updated the UK Maps to 2017.
Now I have no satellites visible and the maps position is about half a mile away. Ive checked the connection in the back of the unit and it looks fine. I have done a few resets using the eject button, but still nothing.

I seem to have the same problem DKZ had, where it said GPS = ____

I dont suppose anyone could offer a solution without going to Peugeot? I only really want to do that as a last resort.
Image

PreviousNext

Return to Ipods, MP3 Players and Sat Nav