Board index Peugeot RCZ Peugeot RCZ Technical Discussion Interior Just wondering about the software

Just wondering about the software

Leather, seats, dash, aircon, heaters & strange noises

Post Tue Mar 27, 2018 8:42 pm
Jh72i Regular
Regular

Posts: 30
Kudos: 3
I've had to hire several rental cars recently including some awful junk but it struck me that even in those the dashboard displays were way more informative than my 2011 rcz 200. Probably just lots of useless info but still...? Actually, I can't even think of those things now as I type but silly stuff like gear change prompts, tyre pressure...
'11 white RCZ TPH 200 ...new adventure
'12 black Ford Grand C-Max ...for bunch of kids
'76 white sunroof 912E ...in storage back home
'69 black Karmann Ghia Coupe ...gave to my brother back home


Post Tue Mar 27, 2018 9:57 pm
neilgsxr69 User avatar

Moderator
Moderator

Posts: 1255
Kudos: 538
My RCZ has gear change prompts and gives tyre pressure monitoring :thumbup:
Image
Launch edition Pearl White Carbon roof & Wing Mirror covers / mat black Graphics

Post Tue Mar 27, 2018 10:00 pm
stewartwillsher User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 568
Kudos: 247
Location: Western Spain
Seeing the word Software tweaks my subconscious response mechanism. :roll:
From mid sixties until about the millennium, that was my trade, in effect; and my saleable skills.
Now as a retired old git living close to the land, my contact with software is either on the numerous computers I use daily for everything including bashing in WAFFLES, or in the car; which is where your thread is directed.
The latest of our fleet is fully loaded, albeit a humble runabout.
It is a Pug 108 Top (which means the roof folds back), and when ordering it, wife says yes we'll have that, and that ...... so it has loads of extras, many questionable as to necessity.
It has a huge number of lamps of all colours and logos flashing on and off at will, or so it would seem.
Moreover, with sensors and warnings for all eventualities, it squeaks, bleeps and pips at the slightest opportunity.
That is all very well, but I find myself asking "now what is the matter?" as a sound nags at me.
The Zero, on the other hand, hides its light under a bushel.
I spec'd the car to GBS and had an array of old fashioned dial type instruments for oil temp, oil pressure, water temp, volts and fuel as well as a tacho and speedo; with a few legally required warning lamps.
But hidden under the dash is a fully featured competition engine management system from Emerald, mapped on a rolling road to get the best out of the engine, fed by a Jenvey injection system.
The Emerald and Jenveys just get on with the job and don't intrude.
Software in its place and working in the background suits me. :eusa-shhh: :thumbup:
"La Gata Negra" 2.0 HDI 2014 Swiss spec fully loaded.

Post Tue Mar 27, 2018 10:02 pm
Plecodoras User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1239
Kudos: 607
Location: North Yorks
My RCZ has tyre pressure monitoring and gives gear change prompts ! :thumbup:

:D
:lol: Laugh and the whole world laughs with you.... or is that at you? :eusa-think:

Former owner of Dolphin Blue GT200 fully loaded inc. Quads / Xenons.
Now on second white* R
currently sporting an Avery
Roaring Thunder Gloss flip colour wrap.

Post Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:11 am
RCZIain Moderator
Moderator

Posts: 700
Kudos: 203
Location: Lincolnshire
Pretty sure my RCZ doesn't prompt for gear changes, it would be getting ignored anyway!
The red bit on the rev counter is for that isn't it? ;)

Sent from my VFD 710 using Tapatalk
Image
Not a Peugeot anymore, after god knows how many years. I now drive a 2013 Toyota GT86, called Steven.

Post Wed Mar 28, 2018 5:58 am
2retro User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1186
Kudos: 530
RCZIain wrote:
Pretty sure my RCZ doesn't prompt for gear changes.

It can do. You can set it for giant numbers to appear on the dash like an F1 car if you want! lol

Post Wed Mar 28, 2018 6:09 am
Nemi User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 190
Kudos: 57
Location: Lithuania
2retro wrote:
It can do. You can set it for giant numbers to appear on the dash like an F1 car if you want! lol


My RCZ also doesn't have that feature. I have checked every setting :wtf:

Post Wed Mar 28, 2018 7:17 am
2retro User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1186
Kudos: 530
Nemi wrote:
2retro wrote:
It can do. You can set it for giant numbers to appear on the dash like an F1 car if you want! lol


My RCZ also doesn't have that feature. I have checked every setting :wtf:

It should have. Just press the button the end of the indicator stalk a few times to cycle through the screens until screen goes blank - that's you in racing gear change mode! Give it a try. :auto-car:

Post Wed Mar 28, 2018 7:28 am
ONLY AEK User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 345
Kudos: 62
Location: greece
2retro wrote:
It should have. Just press the button the end of the indicator stalk a few times to cycle through the screens until screen goes blank - that's you in racing gear change mode! Give it a try. :auto-car:



yes but no yes

it shows when you should change gears but you have to be gentle with the pedal because it works for economy
if you go for pedal to the metal mode it shows nothing
also in the other screens pops up a litlle arrow showing up and a litlle number
thp 156 with 268hp!!!!!!!!

Post Wed Mar 28, 2018 7:43 am
2retro User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1186
Kudos: 530
Yes, it shows when you should change up for best economy but you don't have to pay any attention to it - it's purely advisory!

Post Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:49 pm
RCZ-R User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 658
Kudos: 267
Location: Germany
It shows those gear changes all the way up to 155 MPH and beyond.
The funny fact is, when the 155 MPH limiter is taken away and you actually go beyond 155 then a gear change indicator lightens up. Like it would tell you, come on, it is time for 7th gear.
RCZ R in red. driven daily. and driven hard.
Dyno results here: http://www.peugeotrczforum.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=10118

Post Wed Mar 28, 2018 4:01 pm
RCZIain Moderator
Moderator

Posts: 700
Kudos: 203
Location: Lincolnshire
My 200 definitely hasn't got it.

Sent from my VFD 710 using Tapatalk
Image
Not a Peugeot anymore, after god knows how many years. I now drive a 2013 Toyota GT86, called Steven.

Post Wed Mar 28, 2018 6:51 pm
Nemi User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 190
Kudos: 57
Location: Lithuania
2retro wrote:
It should have. Just press the button the end of the indicator stalk a few times to cycle through the screens until screen goes blank - that's you in racing gear change mode! Give it a try. :auto-car:


I just checked it but my "blank screen" doesn't show anything :eusa-think:

Post Wed Mar 28, 2018 8:29 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3714
Kudos: 1126
Location: Yorkshire
My blank screen doesn’t show anything either. A couple of years ago, this subject came up & I asked at my local stealer, they told me that “certain” models didn’t have that feature, but couldnt expand on “certain”. I asked if it could be updated on mine to include that feature, but they said it wasn’t an option.

As some of you will know, I have modified my software, but although I played with a few of the settings, I still couldn’t get any gear change prompts up there.
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:22 am
RCZash User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 477
Kudos: 142
Hi,
My Asphalt has not got this feature. :?:
2012 Asphalt
2015 208 GTI Prestige

Post Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:24 am
2retro User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1186
Kudos: 530
How odd that some have and some haven't got the feature. Weird!

Post Thu Mar 29, 2018 10:41 am
RCZIain Moderator
Moderator

Posts: 700
Kudos: 203
Location: Lincolnshire
I think the 156 and HDi have it. Although not 100%.
Image
Not a Peugeot anymore, after god knows how many years. I now drive a 2013 Toyota GT86, called Steven.

Post Thu Mar 29, 2018 12:22 pm
neilgsxr69 User avatar

Moderator
Moderator

Posts: 1255
Kudos: 538
Could it be that for some reason the thp200 doesn’t have the gear change prompts but all other models do?
Image
Launch edition Pearl White Carbon roof & Wing Mirror covers / mat black Graphics

Post Thu Mar 29, 2018 2:15 pm
RCZ-R User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 658
Kudos: 267
Location: Germany
Maybe that feat was introduced with the facelift only?
RCZ R in red. driven daily. and driven hard.
Dyno results here: http://www.peugeotrczforum.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=10118

Post Thu Mar 29, 2018 2:47 pm
RCZ1 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 9526
Kudos: 1478
Location: East Riding of Yorkshire
My 2 156THP’s had it and both my R’s !
Mk 2 Sport 156 Moroccan Red Bespoke Nappa leather
Black Roof Arches Sports Pack Sat Nav K&N Filter Philips Diamond Vision lights


RCZ Sport 156 in Pearl White Bespoke Nappa leather interior with RCZ motif
K & N High Performance Air Filter 360/60 LED DRLs Phillips Extreme +100% Headlights Custom Car Mats

Next

Return to Interior