Board index Peugeot RCZ Peugeot RCZ Technical Discussion Wheels, Tyres & Brakes and Suspension Heavy steering

Heavy steering

inc spare tyres & tyre pressure

Post Wed Jun 14, 2017 3:34 pm
RCZnewbie Regular
Regular

Kudos: 4
I know i'm a newbie to the RCZ,but compared to other sports cars I've owned I do find the steering a bit on the heavy side. The front tyres are due for replacement in the near future, I wonder if fitting narrower tyres would help.
Any info would be helpful, thanks. :-)

Post Wed Jun 14, 2017 3:45 pm
2retro User avatar

Kudos: 376
The petrol version feels light as a feather to me but super grippy on those huge tyres. What's yours and what are you comparing it against?

Post Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:31 pm
marinipersonal Senior Member

Kudos: 12
It's heavy, but that's the reason I used to love it. Always worth checking the tyre pressure. Not saying to over do it, as when hot the pressure will increase about 3 psi. Another factor is the tyre. Soft tyres will fill heavier, as the grip is greater. When I bought my, they had some c r a p Accelera and was hard as rock and the grip was worst than a Peugeot 107 using budget tyres.

Post Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:32 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Kudos: 815
Make sure your tyre pressures are what they should be, too low can make the car feel heavier on steering, tyre choice can make a difference too.

Is it making any "groaning" noises when turning the wheel? It could be a failing power steering pump if so.

I have the petrol version and mine seems fine to me, although it might be slightly heavier than some cars I've had, but I prefer it being just as it is.
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Thu Jun 15, 2017 6:42 am
neilgsxr69 User avatar

Kudos: 172
marinipersonal wrote: