Board index Peugeot RCZ Peugeot RCZ Technical Discussion General Technical NEED HELP! - possible engine problems and codes?

NEED HELP! - possible engine problems and codes?

Anything about the RCZ that doesn't belong in the forums below including Service & warranty questions

everson38 Regular
Regular

Kudos: 0
Hey guys

Brand new to forum today so apologies if breaking any rules. But I have quite a big one and need help.

I have a 2010 RCZ 1.6 Petrol with 35k miles and last week an engine light came on saying "engine fault - repair needed" I had it scanned by a technician from AA and it brought up

1)P1385 - Super knock detection
2)P2339 - Super knock detection cylinder 4
3)P0012 - Inlet camshaft degassing
4)P0016 - Synchronising between camshaft and camshaft
5) P0172 - mixture adjustment / too rich

I am a noob with all this so if anyone can help it would be great.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

renegade79 User avatar

Kudos: 371
engine de-coke required...
308GTi THP270 in magnetic blue

RCZ gone but not forgotten

everson38 Regular
Regular

renegade79 wrote:
engine de-coke required...
Thanks renegade. Can you explain about what a de-coke is ?

RCZIain Moderator

Kudos: 158
Engine apart and media blasted. Usually walnut shells.

Sent from my VFD 710 using Tapatalk
Sandra, 2011 200 GT. Shark grey, Ulter Quad exhaust. Vision pack.

Spart User avatar

Regular
Regular

Kudos: 14
If this is the problem,(not saying it is) it's not quite as drastic as it sounds. The engine doesn't have to come completely apart just the inlet manifold off to allow access to the inlet valves. The inlet valves tend to be the ones that can have a build-up of carbon and it's quite common to have this blasted away with a sort of sand blaster but with walnut shells as the medium. Have a Google of "walnut shell blasting mini cooper/BMW" to give you an idea.

RCZIain Moderator

How does it run? Poor idle, loss of power?

neilgsxr69 User avatar

Kudos: 492