Board index Peugeot RCZ Peugeot RCZ Technical Discussion General Technical Fault Codes

Fault Codes

Anything about the RCZ that doesn't belong in the forums below including Service & warranty questions

Post Fri Sep 30, 2016 8:56 am
highlander64 User avatar

Member
Member

Posts: 51
Kudos: 6
Morning Guys

Anybody help on the fault code P0016-crankshaft position camshaft position correlation,
this code keeps popping up and then clearing then popping back up,
is it to do with the timing, the car is sluggish and always thought it might be the timing
not been the same since i had cam chain etc changed, i have also changed the coil packs and cam sensor but still the same,

Thanks in advance
Vince


Post Fri Sep 30, 2016 1:47 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3735
Kudos: 1133
Location: Yorkshire
Almost certainly timing. I'm sure someone else will be along shortly that has had that fault code & can confirm that. :eusa-think:
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Fri Sep 30, 2016 11:39 pm
drdino Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 145
Kudos: 21
What are your fuel trims like?

Post Sat Oct 01, 2016 5:29 am
tianorth User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1781
Kudos: 372
Location: Fareham, Hampshire
Here are some pictures of where the sensors are, maybe try changing the sensor?

Image

Image

Image

These are for the 156 bhp manual but I don't think these will be different to the automatic version, but if yours is automatic I can put those pictures up as well.
Tia2 is a 2013 RCZ Magnetic in Black with a 2litre diesel engine
Upgraded Peugeot sat-nav now has 7 digit postcode, safety alerts and updated maps
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights, quad exhaust tips
Tia3 is a 2015 RCZ-R in Mercury Grey with a 1.6litre petrol engine, oh and 270 bhp
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights
Both have dash cams front and back

Post Sun Oct 02, 2016 3:41 pm
highlander64 User avatar

Member
Member

Posts: 51
Kudos: 6
Thanks tianorth that is a handy diagram, i have already changed the cam sensor

What are the fuel trims and where are they drdino?

Thanks Guys

Vince

Post Sun Oct 02, 2016 7:23 pm
drdino Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 145
Kudos: 21
Sorry, thought you meant you were reading and clearing the codes yourself, so assumed you had some diagnostic equipment.

It's basically the amount the engine's ECU alters fueling to account for variations. If the values are high, one of the reasons can be slipped timing.

Post Mon Oct 24, 2016 9:14 pm
monkfish Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 3
Kudos: 1
also getting exactly the same code as the op, did you have any progress with this?

Post Tue Oct 25, 2016 10:17 am
highlander64 User avatar

Member
Member

Posts: 51
Kudos: 6
Hi Monkfish

No still not sorted it yet, had a garage look at it and he recons it is the the timing, i changed the mass air flow sensor but still runs the same, the garage could not fix the timing as he has not got the correct tools.
still looking around but will not take it to Peugeot with there extortionate labour charges.
will keep you updated if i get it sorted.
cheers
Vince

Post Tue Oct 25, 2016 9:09 pm
monkfish Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 3
Kudos: 1
hi vince, thanks for the reply

what made you have the chain replaced originally? Was this done by peugeot? Do you think they screwed the timing up? I just got my car, so think am gonna try an oil change and then perhaps clean/replace the timing control solenoid valve.

Post Fri Oct 28, 2016 10:44 am
highlander64 User avatar

Member
Member

Posts: 51
Kudos: 6
Hi Monkfish

I had the dreaded chain rattle, Peugeot replaced timing chain, guides, sprockets etc.
as it was only 2 weeks out of warranty they paid for the parts £168 but i was lumbered with £585 labour charge and my extended warranty would not cover it ass they classed it as a manufacture defect :evil:
Dont know what it is but it has never run right since, but lately it has got worse(my fault for no taking it back sooner)
where is the timing control solenoid valve might have a look at that be fore i spend any more cash,

Cheers
Vince

Post Sat Oct 29, 2016 10:52 pm
monkfish Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 3
Kudos: 1
That is shocking that you had to pay for that imo. See the attached pic for the position of the solenoid. I'm going into the stealer next week for the ecu software upgrade recall, i'll make it clear then that if it does turn out to be a problem with the chain then i wont be paying a penny and see what they have to say. mine is a 2011 no extended warranty and 53k
Attachments
Screen Shot 2016-10-28 at 21.13.40.png
Screen Shot 2016-10-28 at 21.13.40.png (200.89 KiB) Viewed 5732 times

Post Mon Oct 31, 2016 12:01 pm
highlander64 User avatar

Member
Member

Posts: 51
Kudos: 6
Thanks for that Monkfish,
Mines a 2012 with 61000 miles, is the solenoid easy enough to get to and clean,
hope you have better luck than me with your chain issue

Cheers
Vince


Return to General Technical