Board index Peugeot RCZ RCZ Tuning & Modifying Forum Replacing the stereo with an aftermarket one

Replacing the stereo with an aftermarket one

Remaps, Bodykits, Alloys, Springs, In Car Entertainment

Abzynthe User avatar

Moderator
Moderator

Posts: 3903
Kudos: 1052
Location: Peterborough

I don't have it fitted in my car. I am also interested in it if it works, but I haven't tried one.
Image


RCZ S-S Regular
Regular

Posts: 38
Kudos: 1
Where do you plan to buy it?
Do you know any other suppliers?
Do you also have the factory jbl system?

I will ask the seller on aliexpress (the link I've posted) if the system is realy just plug and play.
I don't want to loose the standard functions like steering wheel controls, PDC front+rear, onboard Dash and computer and the jbl amplifier.

I there nowbody how has installed this system?

Abzynthe User avatar

Moderator
Moderator

Posts: 3903
Kudos: 1052
Location: Peterborough

Ive seen it on ebay, but thats it.
I havent really looked into buying it yet, as I have other things on the list before it :)
Image

RCZ S-S Regular
Regular

Posts: 38
Kudos: 1

mjcuk2000 Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 100
Kudos: 26
It certainly looks cool. I like the fact it's designed for the RCZ/308 and it looks like it'd be pretty cheap too.
I am a bit worried that it's a no name brand and that it's running Windows CE. Anything I've used that's run CE has been quite clunky. I'm sure it all works but I'm not sure how refined it would be. I wonder if it even includes UK maps or if there's a bit of fiddling about to get these on?

I can't help but wonder if a standard headunit from one of the big brands would be better. It might not be quite so integrated and it will probably cost more, but at least you know it'll work well.

Abzynthe User avatar

Moderator
Moderator

Posts: 3903
Kudos: 1052
Location: Peterborough

With it being windows, im sure it can be tweaked if need be, like installing a tomtom nav system or something.
Image

RCZ S-S Regular
Regular

Posts: 38
Kudos: 1
Hi,

I've contacted the seller and got a quick and good answer.

Positiv:
-System will work like I described it incl. parking Bip and JBl
-Maps for Europe are installed
-Everything is included (no additonal parts necessary)

Negativ:
- The unit supports no RDS and no phonebook in bluetooth

Phonebook doesn't matter, it is not so interessting for me.
But what means no RDS in detail. The display won't show the name of the Radio station or is just the name of the current played song missing?

The seller also told me, that this unit will be the only one working in my RCZ.
Is this really the truth?

Regards
Daniel

RCZ S-S Regular
Regular

Posts: 38
Kudos: 1
There are other units available supporting RDS and bluetooth phonebook but it seems so that the JBL amplifier will only work with the unit I've posted.

Does anybody know if the JBL Amplifier can be bypassed somehow?
Is there somehow a wiring diagramm of the JBL System avilable?

RCZ S-S Regular
Regular

Posts: 38
Kudos: 1
Hello,

is there anybody who changed the stardard Radio RD4 with an 2 Din GPS DVD Radio.
Which canbus adapater do I need?
Unfortunately I have the factory JBL Sound system which will cause some problems because it is also connected to the canbus system.

Will this Radio work with one of this adapters?

Radio:
http://www.ebay.de/itm/xtrons-6-2-HD-Android-2-DIN-Autoradio-GPS-Bluetooth-3G-Wifi-Touchscreen-ipod-TV-/251344985473?pt=CE_Auto_Hi_Fi_Autoradios&hash=item3a85541d81

Adapter:
http://www.ebay.de/itm/PEUGEOT-RCZ-308-CC-Can-Bus-Auto-Radio-Adapter-Lenkrad-Autoradio-Adapter-PDC-/200887807566?pt=Kabel_Stecker&hash=item2ec5d8ae4e

or this adapter:
http://www.niq.de/shop2/product_info.php?info=p1219_381040-01-doppel-din-komplett-set-fuer-peugeot-308.html

Many thanks

johnny538 Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 7
Kudos: 1
I have been looking for a unit to fit straight in and these guys answered my prayers...check this link, you get all the cables with it and not a bad price, unfortunately out of stock for black ones until next week.
http://www.carnaviplayer.com/peugeot-30 ... nit-p-1114

Joesh Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 2
Kudos: 0
@johnny538, did you get the carnaviplayer radio installed? How does it work?
johnny538 wrote:
I have been looking for a unit to fit straight in and these guys answered my prayers...check this link, you get all the cables with it and not a bad price, unfortunately out of stock for black ones until next week.
http://www.carnaviplayer.com/peugeot-30 ... nit-p-1114


eddreed Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 163
Kudos: 14
Location: Milton Keynes
Wow do anyone in the uk fit these I want it.
156 GT Opal White - New Facelift (SOLD IN JAN 2016)
Xenon Light Pack
Matt Black Arches
19" Solstice Alloy Wheels
Black Leather Seats

newton41986 Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 169
Kudos: 39
Does anyone have a list of screens that are compatible with the RCZ? Having seen this topic yesterday I am very keen to get a sat nav screen installed, they look great and will be unique as not many will have the screen there! I have had a look at a few websites but not being a techno whizz would need a bit more help before going to buy!
Ta muchly
Chris

Edit: I am also looking at keeping the parking sensor functionality for both front and rear. I've spoken with xtrons this morning and whilst their units look great they only keep parking sensor functionality with their custom units and those don't fit the RCZ :-(

Abzynthe User avatar

Moderator
Moderator

Posts: 3903
Kudos: 1052
Location: Peterborough

Connects2 do a lead for the RCZ and I think with this lead pretty much any aftermarket double din will be compatible.


diggerd wrote:
yes it will.
you will need a double din facia similar to this
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/like/18141115 ... 0&ff14=108

and a connect2 wiring loom and Sony adapters similar to this,

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Connects2-Peu ... 27d7599c99

caution is required when buying the lead, as it is specific to whether your car has parking sensors or not. it is worth seeking advice on the lead

watch the video here on how to remove the old one.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mxvq16kR3Nc

hope that helps.

Diggerd


I think the lead for parking sensors is around £100 though.
Image

diggerd Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 190
Kudos: 46
the connects2 lead is expensive and you will still need a conversion cable for what ever brand you have!

the connectss2 plugs into the rcz easily. and gives you iso compatibility, you then need iso to what ever brand head unit you purchase.. all the main brands are covered and a universal lead for the more obscure!

this one has taken my fancy .. uses your phone and the apps. so any sat nav and ab via the internet!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=weLuWQepluI

diggerd
2013 Mk 2.0 HDI Sport
Pearl White
Black Pack
Zenons
Zunsport Quads
de badged rear.
Phillips main beam Bulbs

wdmbc Regular
Regular

Posts: 38
Kudos: 10
2.jpeg
2.jpeg (131.59 KiB) Viewed 8046 times
i have fitted an alpine double din sat nav with DAB.

you need one connects 2 lead it does parking,clock setting and steering control. mine was about £80. yes you will also need a small patch lead for your make of radio. they are about a Fiver.

then a double din fascia again IIRC about £40.


i have upgraded all factory speakers, the originals are paper cone Chinese 25watts ones - garbage
also put a high quality 4 channel amp in there

OO58RON User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 6156
Kudos: 893
Location: York
That must sound amazing, because I think that the original is very good and so with the amp and better quality speakers :clap:
RCZ is the only car to make the Audi TT appear dated, and is officially the sexiest car on the road.

Image

newton41986 Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 169
Kudos: 39
wdmbc wrote:
2.jpeg
i have fitted an alpine double din sat nav with DAB.

you need one connects 2 lead it does parking,clock setting and steering control. mine was about £80. yes you will also need a small patch lead for your make of radio. they are about a Fiver.

then a double din fascia again IIRC about £40.


i have upgraded all factory speakers, the originals are paper cone Chinese 25watts ones - garbage
also put a high quality 4 channel amp in there



Fantastic on two parts, 1) how it is looking and 2) for the info too. I know what my next overtime is being spent on now!! :thumbup:

wdmbc Regular
Regular

Posts: 38
Kudos: 10
thinking about connecting to the JBL system. i would just fit a small four channel amp in its place after all its only 4 sets of speaker wiring at the JBL amp, the tweeter wiring joins in to the front speaker wiring in the dash .

Rockford and Focal make some Tiny but great sounding ones.

http://www.focal.com/en/amplifiers-ampl ... -4350.html
http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/products ... s/pbr300x4

i used this one mounted under the passenger seat

http://www.talkaudio.co.uk/index.php/in ... ifier-r826

The Tweeters have caps on them co no crossover needed. Keep the JBL speakers a bit harsh for my taste though

then use the head unit to control crossover points / Time delay and set the parametric equalizer if required. cross over points could also be set at the amp

the unit i have does all this

http://www.alpine.co.uk/p/Products/navi ... /ine-w925r

feel free to ask me any questions

PreviousNext

Return to RCZ Tuning & Modifying Forum