Board index Peugeot RCZ RCZ Tuning & Modifying Forum Living with a RACECHIP!

Living with a RACECHIP!

Remaps, Bodykits, Alloys, Springs, In Car Entertainment

Post Mon Mar 26, 2018 7:05 pm
Stu8 Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 117
Kudos: 82
Well I decided to take another hit too my wallet and I purchased a racechip rs , as I've been thinking of increasing the power a little for a while, I've had a few of my previous cars remapped with different outcomes some good some bad , so I thought I would go down the racechip route as i could fit it myself (love too tinker ) I must say I'm very impressed with the result, it's been on my car now for a couple of months and the improvement in performance is impressive so if there is anybody like me who is thinking of remapping I for one would definitely recommend the racechip it might be a little more expensive but you have got the option of transferring it too your next car a reprogram thrown in with the price, any questions please ask always wiling to help. :dance:
ImageImage


Post Tue Mar 27, 2018 8:54 am
Nemi User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 191
Kudos: 57
Location: Lithuania
I see they have updated their racechips for RCZ since last summer :eusa-think: I was thinking about one of those racechips but eventually i decided to do remap instead.

Have you tried different tuning mappings on that chip? I wonder what is the difference :eusa-think:

Post Tue Mar 27, 2018 10:07 am
2retro User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1189
Kudos: 531
Nice! This looks like a vastly simpler (and safer) option than remapping.

Do you think you're getting the advertised extra 31HP from it? And was it easy to fit?

Post Tue Mar 27, 2018 5:03 pm
Docksey007 User avatar

Regular
Regular

Posts: 40
Kudos: 10
Location: Burton on Trent

Which RCZ have you used this in Stu? 200?
Red RCZ R
Heavily Detailed

Post Tue Mar 27, 2018 5:50 pm
Stu8 Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 117
Kudos: 82
Yes they updated them there use to be just two sensor connection points for the RCZ but now there are three points to connect some thing to do with improved performance of the chip, as for installation not that difficult the only tricky part was removing the air filter box to access one of the sensors other than that straight forward, as for performance gains the car definitely pulls better and you certainly feel the surge when the turbo kicks in a lot more than before, I enjoy overtaken even more now, they say 30+ bhp gain, i would have to take it for a rolling road test too see exactly what the gains are but it definitely feels substantial and I have no complaints so far, I haven't had time too try any of the other setting on my RS CHIP yet, maybe when the weather improves I might have a play.
Last edited by Stu8 on Tue Mar 27, 2018 6:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post Tue Mar 27, 2018 5:50 pm
Stu8 Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 117
Kudos: 82
Docksey007 wrote:
Which RCZ have you used this in Stu? 200?

Yes 200 thp.

Post Tue Mar 27, 2018 8:25 pm
Jh72i Regular
Regular

Posts: 30
Kudos: 3
Very interesting - I've been meaning to post a question about whether a remap is worth doing. I got a quote here of €699 to remap my 200 for a 25hp gain. Lots of posts here over the years so was wondering all these years later what folks think!
'11 white RCZ TPH 200 ...new adventure
'12 black Ford Grand C-Max ...for bunch of kids
'76 white sunroof 912E ...in storage back home
'69 black Karmann Ghia Coupe ...gave to my brother back home

Post Tue Mar 27, 2018 9:54 pm
neilgsxr69 User avatar

Moderator
Moderator

Posts: 1259
Kudos: 539
Jh72i wrote:
Very interesting - I've been meaning to post a question about whether a remap is worth doing. I got a quote here of €699 to remap my 200 for a 25hp gain. Lots of posts here over the years so was wondering all these years later what folks think!


I was blown away with my remap I couldn’t believe how different the car drives quicker to pick up and accelerates harder but what I couldn’t believe was the extra fuel economy that goes with it around 8 miles to the gallon extra win win :dance:
I think your quote of €699 is well over the top you should be paying around €300 max.
What I have also noticed is that my exhaust tips no longer soot up so I think the RCZ runs a little rich as standard?
Image
Launch edition Pearl White Carbon roof & Wing Mirror covers / mat black Graphics

Post Wed Mar 28, 2018 5:30 am
Nemi User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 191
Kudos: 57
Location: Lithuania
Jh72i wrote:
Very interesting - I've been meaning to post a question about whether a remap is worth doing. I got a quote here of €699 to remap my 200 for a 25hp gain. Lots of posts here over the years so was wondering all these years later what folks think!


€699 seems way too much for a remap. I agree with neil, remap should cost your around €300. I had my THP 200 remapped to 230HP / 340Nm for around €300 and it definitely feels better then before, difference is very noticeable :shock: Although i didn't notice any increase in fuel economy but that is something i don't really care about :eusa-shhh:

There is another way to remap your car https://www.etuners.gr/flasher-thp/

Post Wed Mar 28, 2018 7:36 pm
Jh72i Regular
Regular

Posts: 30
Kudos: 3
Unfortunately everything in this particular Nordic country is a ripoff :?

Now, you all have me looking at the Racechip GTS (yeah, I can't afford that either really) - any thoughts on that one. I love the idea that you can (if I have read correctly) configure from your phone. Also that you can just turn it off if you want to return to stock to remind yourself of what gains (or not) you get.
'11 white RCZ TPH 200 ...new adventure
'12 black Ford Grand C-Max ...for bunch of kids
'76 white sunroof 912E ...in storage back home
'69 black Karmann Ghia Coupe ...gave to my brother back home

Post Wed Mar 28, 2018 8:22 pm
Stu8 Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 117
Kudos: 82
I also thought of getting the RACECHIP GTS but after a little research into the product i decided to get the RS chip as the gts chip for the rcz is only a 5 bhp increase on RS one and you are not going to feel any power difference in every day use plus for the extra 5 bhp is going to cost quite a lot more money, so if you're thinking of the racechip I personally recommend the RS one.

Post Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:27 am
2retro User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1189
Kudos: 531
If anyone is thinking of getting one of these you can get yourself a nice little discount by signing up here first:

https://www.topcashback.co.uk/ref/2retro

Currently RaceChip are offering 13.13% cashback on purchases made through the above link which for the RCZ works out at around:

£16.00 off the RaceChip 'S'

£28.00 off the RaceChip 'RS'

£45.00 off the RaceChip 'GTS'


Not bad at all! :thumbup:

Post Thu Mar 29, 2018 1:05 pm
Jh72i Regular
Regular

Posts: 30
Kudos: 3
Yikes, I went ahead and pulled the trigger based on your recommendation Stu8 and purchased the 'RS'.

As part of the purchase process i had to identify what "manifold pressure sensor" is installed on my car. So i nipped down to the underground car park and eventually found that....
Manifold pressure sensor type A 7333.jpg
Manifold pressure sensor type A 7333.jpg (18.11 KiB) Viewed 2033 times


Now, when i start the car i get the dreaded "Engine fault repair needed" screen...
fault.jpg
fault.jpg (18.43 KiB) Viewed 2033 times


In my effort to find the right connector i first was looking at the wrong place and also disconnected this one a little further to the left....
xx.jpg
xx.jpg (19.06 KiB) Viewed 2033 times


Both are reconnected properly but the "Engine fault..." message still appears.

Any idea?
'11 white RCZ TPH 200 ...new adventure
'12 black Ford Grand C-Max ...for bunch of kids
'76 white sunroof 912E ...in storage back home
'69 black Karmann Ghia Coupe ...gave to my brother back home

Post Thu Mar 29, 2018 1:31 pm
tianorth User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1777
Kudos: 371
Location: Fareham, Hampshire
Other than making sure no dirt/moisture is on contacts of connecrors, can't think of anything else unless the sensor has been allowed to move.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
Tia2 is a 2013 RCZ Magnetic in Black with a 2litre diesel engine
Upgraded Peugeot sat-nav now has 7 digit postcode, safety alerts and updated maps
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights, quad exhaust tips
Tia3 is a 2015 RCZ-R in Mercury Grey with a 1.6litre petrol engine, oh and 270 bhp
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights
Both have dash cams front and back

Post Thu Mar 29, 2018 2:00 pm
Jh72i Regular
Regular

Posts: 30
Kudos: 3
Crisis over - tried disconnecting the battery to no avail but stopped at traffic lights on the way home I decided to turn off & on the engine &, hey presto, error didn't show up :)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
'11 white RCZ TPH 200 ...new adventure
'12 black Ford Grand C-Max ...for bunch of kids
'76 white sunroof 912E ...in storage back home
'69 black Karmann Ghia Coupe ...gave to my brother back home

Post Thu Mar 29, 2018 3:07 pm
2retro User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1189
Kudos: 531
Maybe Stu8 would consider posting some pics showing where the correct connections are located?

Would be very useful for future buyers. :thumbup:
Last edited by 2retro on Thu May 03, 2018 7:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post Thu Mar 29, 2018 3:19 pm
renegade79 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1847
Kudos: 373
Location: Ireland
when I was installing my k and n in my 208 thp 200 I had to disconnect the maf sensor but it threw up a light on the display. I simply cleared the fault using an OBD II connector and the fault went away.
308GTi THP270 in magnetic blue


RCZ gone but not forgotten

Post Thu Mar 29, 2018 5:20 pm
Stu8 Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 117
Kudos: 82
Jh72i wrote:
Yikes, I went ahead and pulled the trigger based on your recommendation Stu8 and purchased the 'RS'.

As part of the purchase process i had to identify what "manifold pressure sensor" is installed on my car. So i nipped down to the underground car park and eventually found that....
Manifold pressure sensor type A 7333.jpg


Now, when i start the car i get the dreaded "Engine fault repair needed" screen...
fault.jpg


In my effort to find the right connector i first was looking at the wrong place and also disconnected this one a little further to the left....
xx.jpg


Both are reconnected properly but the "Engine fault..." message still appears.

Any idea?

Sorry to hear your having issues with your racechip, did you follow the instructions supplied and before starting your install you are suppose to pop your bonnet and then lock the car and leave for 10 mins before you start your installation it's really important you do that first before you go disconnecting the sensors.

Post Thu Mar 29, 2018 5:33 pm
Stu8 Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 117
Kudos: 82
This is for everybody to know the correct wiring procedure - cable marked GREEN goes to boost pressure sensor. Cable marked RED goes to manifold intake sensor (under air filter box). Cable marked blue goes to air flow sensor. So if you're looking straight at your engine it's green on the left, red under the air filter box ( center ), and blue to the right hand side, hope this helps a little.

Post Thu Mar 29, 2018 7:28 pm
Jh72i Regular
Regular

Posts: 30
Kudos: 3
Hi, Stu8, you misunderstand - this was part of the race chip online purchase process. I'm nowhere near the installation stage :|

But thank you for these early tips - believe me I need them & also, believe me, I will proceed with extreme caution whenever the installation process starts.

Hey, also thank you 2retro - I might have gotten a small discount :thumbup:
'11 white RCZ TPH 200 ...new adventure
'12 black Ford Grand C-Max ...for bunch of kids
'76 white sunroof 912E ...in storage back home
'69 black Karmann Ghia Coupe ...gave to my brother back home

Next

Return to RCZ Tuning & Modifying Forum