Board index Peugeot RCZ RCZ Tuning & Modifying Forum Display software mods

Display software mods

Remaps, Bodykits, Alloys, Springs, In Car Entertainment

Post Thu Dec 08, 2016 3:22 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3491
Kudos: 1037
Location: Yorkshire
So, I came across a couple of interesting software mods that I decided to try out myself. One of which (maybe both) did come with a warning that doing it wrong could leave you with a brick!!!!!!!

The first one is a way of loading whatever image you want (so long as it's 800X480 resolution) as your boot screen.

The second one is a way of showing extra screens from either the button in the end of the wiper stalk, or the mode button on the RT6 unit itself.

I have put examples of what I have done below. There is also another screen which shows the trip info, as shown on the small orange screen on the dash.
Attachments
IMG_0748.JPG
IMG_0748.JPG (253.62 KiB) Viewed 6218 times
IMG_0747.JPG
IMG_0747.JPG (255.85 KiB) Viewed 6218 times
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red


Post Thu Dec 08, 2016 3:27 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3491
Kudos: 1037
Location: Yorkshire
The bootscreen mod is the simpler if the two.........

Tools required:
- PC with Windows OS
- USB flash drive
- a JPEG picture with 800x480 resolution

1. Take a USB flash drive and format it as FAT32 on your PC.
2. Download this file: https://ssl7.ovh.net/~consoles/MON_ACCUEIL.zip
3. Unpack the content of the zip file and place in the root directory of your USB flash drive
4. Copy the desired picture to the root directory of the USB flash drive and rename the picture to 'Image.jpg'
5. Insert the USB flash drive into your RT6/eMyWay system
6. You will get a pop-up screen with a french command at the bottem; 'MON_ACCUEIL' --> press 'No'
7. You will get the next pop-up screen with a french command at the bottem; 'RESTAURATION' --> press 'No'
8. You will get the next pop-up screen with a french command at the bottem; 'SAUVEGARDE' --> press 'Yes' This will make a back-up from the original bootscreen on your USB flash drive
9. After the script is finished unplug the USB flash drive and replug it again
10. You will get a pop-up screen with a french command at the bottem; 'MON_ACCUEIL' --> press 'Yes' This will copy the desired picture to the system and create a .inf file for the picture.
11. After the script is finished it will terminate. press and hold the eject button to reboot the system
12. It could be possible the bootscreen remaines the same, in that case repeat step 10&11(in my case I needed to repeat is once)
13. If you want to restore to the original bootscreen plug in your USB flash drive, choose 'RESTAURATION' --> press 'Yes'
14. All done, enjoy your new 'cooler' bootscreen

Please share your bootscreens once you have done them.
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Thu Dec 08, 2016 3:30 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3491
Kudos: 1037
Location: Yorkshire
The other one has taken me quite some time to get right, and was the more "dangerous" of the two, as it involves using Mirascript and datexplorer, and modifying system files on a PC then re-loading them into the RT6. I will try to put together a post as to how I managed it, once I have worked out exactly what I did.
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Thu Dec 08, 2016 5:44 pm
renegade79 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1826
Kudos: 368
Location: Ireland
That Is pretty cool... :clap:
Last edited by renegade79 on Fri Dec 09, 2016 5:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
308GTi THP270 in magnetic blue


RCZ gone but not forgotten

Post Thu Dec 08, 2016 5:49 pm
CircuitMonkey Member
Member

Posts: 51
Kudos: 13
Any idea of what can be done for the NG4

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
2010 RCZ GT 200 charcoal grey
Cream leather interior
NG4 & JBL stereo upgrade
Vision pack
Love it!!!

2017 VW Golf SE 1.4 TSI DSG
Love that automated cruise control on motorways

Post Thu Dec 08, 2016 8:50 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3491
Kudos: 1037
Location: Yorkshire
To get the temps & tyre pressures up....

You need to download datexplorer to your PC. You can get it at http://mira308sw.altervista.org/fr/index.htm. You can also get Mirascript here.

Then, You need to go to https://ulozto.net/!beHxPSYPAigg/de-cop ... -11-16-zip and download the zip file (password is RT6). You need to unpack the file to the root of a USB stick. (DE_COPY_TO_USB_Peugeot_TPM_09_11_16.zip

Put the USB stick in the USB slot in your RCZ.

RT6 should ask to run 1_RT6_GPHCOPY.CMD, choose NO until YOU see RT6_USERCOM.CMD then select yes.

By running it it will copy three files (dat) to USB root and those You can edit in datexplorer.

You need to change the value of TRIP from 0 to 1 in user_config.dat using the previously downloaded datexplorer on your PC, save the changes to the USB stick, put the USB back into the RT6 then go to the same RT6_USERCOM.CMD and copy the altered files back to the RT6.

That should have given you the extra screen with the temps & pressures on.

If you download Mirascripts & unpack to a formatted USB, putting it into the RT6 you can change the "trip" value directly on the unit, this gives you a repeat screen on the sat nav of the trip display on the orange screen on the dash. But I'm afraid, I've been on with this for quite some time trying to get the temp screen up, so I can't remember exactly how I managed this, it was either 0 to 1 or 1 to 2. The thing is if you try & it doesn't work, you can easily go back and change it again.
Last edited by DKZ5745 on Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Thu Dec 08, 2016 8:52 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3491
Kudos: 1037
Location: Yorkshire
I have been checking for the NG4. It appears that nobody has come up with a way to do it on that unit as yet. Sorry I cant help you there.
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Thu Dec 08, 2016 8:57 pm
CircuitMonkey Member
Member

Posts: 51
Kudos: 13
That's a real shame, thanks for replying though. I'd still be interested in knowing where you found all this info if you don't mind sharing some links

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
2010 RCZ GT 200 charcoal grey
Cream leather interior
NG4 & JBL stereo upgrade
Vision pack
Love it!!!

2017 VW Golf SE 1.4 TSI DSG
Love that automated cruise control on motorways

Post Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:29 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3491
Kudos: 1037
Location: Yorkshire
No worries, take a look at GPSUnderground.com go to the Peugeot/Citroen section. There are a multitude of threads relating to various Smeg, NG4, RT6, Sat Nav, Speed cams, firmware, etc etc it is an excellent source of information, once you get past the pop up ads.
They're not always as friendly a bunch as you find on here either, and often if you ask what can be an obvious question. You might find the replies are less than courteous.

It's certainly worth a browse though.
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Fri Dec 09, 2016 4:01 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3491
Kudos: 1037
Location: Yorkshire
A couple more screens...
Attachments
IMG_0754.JPG
IMG_0754.JPG (251.14 KiB) Viewed 6146 times
IMG_0753.JPG
IMG_0753.JPG (252.53 KiB) Viewed 6146 times
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:46 pm
tianorth User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1683
Kudos: 360
Location: Fareham, Hampshire
I tried using this but only partial success.
Tia2 is a 2013 RCZ Magnetic in Black with a 2litre diesel engine
Upgraded Peugeot sat-nav now has 7 digit postcode, safety alerts and updated maps
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights, quad exhaust tips
Tia3 is a 2015 RCZ-R in Mercury Grey with a 1.6litre petrol engine, oh and 270 bhp
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights
Both have dash cams front and back

Post Sat Dec 10, 2016 12:06 am
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3491
Kudos: 1037
Location: Yorkshire
I got the trip info on quite easily using Mirascripts, the temps & tyre pressures screen was tricky & involved datexplorer. The problem with GPSUnderground is that they seem to think that everyone is a competent computer programmer. You have to ask basic questions for each and every stage. And even then the answers you get are often only part of what you actually need to do.
The reason my instructions are quite vague above are simply that this was a process that literally took me weeks to complete (albeit I was busy doing other things, and only came back to this on occasions) and by the time I managed to succeed, I had forgotten how I had actually got there, having done various things and had to revert them back as they hadn't worked.
I am pleased with the results though, especially the temp & pressure screen.

The boot screen was very straightforward, and I actually got that from a DS3 site. It's amazing what's floating round on the interweb thingy.
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Sat Dec 10, 2016 10:40 am
tianorth User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1683
Kudos: 360
Location: Fareham, Hampshire
I'm like you, sporadic time over several weeks, got one part working but not the temp/pressure gauges.
Tia2 is a 2013 RCZ Magnetic in Black with a 2litre diesel engine
Upgraded Peugeot sat-nav now has 7 digit postcode, safety alerts and updated maps
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights, quad exhaust tips
Tia3 is a 2015 RCZ-R in Mercury Grey with a 1.6litre petrol engine, oh and 270 bhp
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights
Both have dash cams front and back

Post Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:37 pm
RCZ1 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 9492
Kudos: 1462
Location: East Riding of Yorkshire
Seeing as I'm having problems switch my Sat Nav even working, I don't think I'll risk this.
Mk 2 Sport 156 Moroccan Red Bespoke Nappa leather
Black Roof Arches Sports Pack Sat Nav K&N Filter Philips Diamond Vision lights


RCZ Sport 156 in Pearl White Bespoke Nappa leather interior with RCZ motif
K & N High Performance Air Filter 360/60 LED DRLs Phillips Extreme +100% Headlights Custom Car Mats

Post Sat Dec 10, 2016 10:30 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3491
Kudos: 1037
Location: Yorkshire
:lol: good call :eusa-think:
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Tue Mar 07, 2017 3:51 pm
Plecodoras User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 997
Kudos: 491
Location: North Yorks
Just a thought DKZ5745,

If you were to back up the files which are modded and in use on your RT6 to USB stick, could it be that they could be transferred to another unit via the same way you "uploaded" your modified files?

Has anyone else done any further work in this area to compliment the great work DKZ has done already?

:beer:


Laugh and the whole world laughs with you.... or is that at you? :lol:
:lol: Laugh and the whole world laughs with you.... or is that at you? :eusa-think:

Post Tue Mar 07, 2017 8:47 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3491
Kudos: 1037
Location: Yorkshire
I would have thought that would probably work. The main thing is backing up your original files, so if it all goes pear shaped, you can always revert back to default. I did that, but I've lost the USB stick :crazy:
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Wed Mar 08, 2017 12:15 am
tianorth User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 1683
Kudos: 360
Location: Fareham, Hampshire
Have you checked your usb socket in the central console?
Tia2 is a 2013 RCZ Magnetic in Black with a 2litre diesel engine
Upgraded Peugeot sat-nav now has 7 digit postcode, safety alerts and updated maps
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights, quad exhaust tips
Tia3 is a 2015 RCZ-R in Mercury Grey with a 1.6litre petrol engine, oh and 270 bhp
Other mods include door catch covers, rcz puddle lights
Both have dash cams front and back

Post Thu Mar 09, 2017 9:40 am
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3491
Kudos: 1037
Location: Yorkshire
I did Chris. I have a different one in there with music on. It's probably in the house somewhere but we have been decorating & had new carpets, so everything was moved. I might find it eventually :eusa-think:
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Post Thu Mar 29, 2018 10:53 pm
DKZ5745 User avatar

Senior Member
Senior Member

Posts: 3491
Kudos: 1037
Location: Yorkshire
Update as I have posted a link to this thread in response to a question.

I never did find the usb stick with my original files on. I suspect it was mistakenly used for another purpose by another family member.

Fortunately, everything still works as shown above, so no problem with not being able to revert the files.
Last edited by DKZ5745 on Fri Mar 30, 2018 9:10 am, edited 2 times in total.
Mk 2 GT200 Moroccan Red

Next

Return to RCZ Tuning & Modifying Forum